LinkedIn Apologizes For Trying To Connect Everyone In Real Life

LinkedIn has apologized for a vague new update that told some iPhone users its app would begin sharing their data with nearby users without further explanation. From a report: The update prompted outrage on Twitter after cybersecurity expert Rik Ferguson received a strange alert when he opened the resume app to read a new message: “LinkedIn would like to make data available to nearby Bluetooth devices even when you’re not using the app.” That gave Ferguson, vice president of research at the cybersecurity firm Trend Micro, a handful of concerns, he told Vocativ. Among them: “the lack of specificity, which data, when, under what conditions, to which devices, why does it need to happen when I’m not using the app, what are the benefits to me, where is the feature announcement and explanation, why wasn’t it listed in the app update details.” Reached for comment, LinkedIn said it’s a mistake — that some iPhone users were accidentally subject to undeveloped test feature the company is still working on.


Share on Google+

Read more of this story at Slashdot.

Clip to Evernote

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *